Breathing at 16,000 feet

This weekend we hiked the second tallest active volcano in the world, Cotopaxi. Needless to say it was the hardest thing I’ve ever done in my life! 😳 At first, I was excited about the trip and was all for the hike up. However upon exiting the vehicle, my lungs thought otherwise. It was freezing and the oxygen level was not up to par for my body. However, I did not let that stop me! Taking it step by step; allowing old ladies and children to pass, I managed to make it to the refuge which was at 16,000 feet above sea level. What!!!? I never thought that I would be able to 1. Hike a volcano and 2. Make it to 16,000 feet! What an accomplishment. I now can die happy :). It was the most beautiful site and the snow made me think of home and all the cold weather that’s been passing through. What a great adventure.

IMG_0834-0.JPG
This is the view that we had on the way down. It was a stopping point for people like me who needed a break.

IMG_0821-0.JPG
Pumped that we made it to the refuge!

IMG_0841-0.JPG

The view of Cotopaxi from the bottom.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

